Judson ISD

STAAR Replacing TAKS


STAAR logoFor years, students have been taking the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) to determine whether they have mastered the material and concepts required for their current grade or course. Beginning in 2011–2012, TAKS was replaced with a new testing program, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR).

How will STAAR be different than TAKS?

STAAR is expected to be more rigorous than TAKS and is designed to measure whether students are on a path to college and meaningful careers. In general, questions on the new exams will have multiple steps and will require higher–level thinking. Students will also have a time limit to complete the tests.

In elementary and middle school, STAAR will assess the same subjects at the same grade levels that have been covered by the TAKS. In high school, grade-specific assessments will be replaced with 5 end-of course exams.

Key Differences Between STAAR and TAKS

  • are more rigorous
  • have more questions
  • have a four-hour time limit
  • include 5 high school end-of-course assessments

STAAR Exams for Elementary and Middle School Students

  • Grade 3 Mathematics and Reading
  • Grade 4 Mathematics, Writing, and Reading
  • Grade 5 Mathematics, Reading, and Science
  • Grade 6 Mathematics and Reading
  • Grade 7 Mathematics, Reading, Writing
  • Grade 8 Mathematics, Reading, Social Studies, and Science

STAAR End-of-Course Assessments for High School Students

  • English I
  • English II
  • Algebra I
  • Biology
  • U.S. History

How will student performance be reported?

After taking a STAAR exam, a student will receive one of three scores:

  • Advanced Academic Performance
  • Satisfactory Academic Performance
  • Unsatisfactory Academic Performance

Does my child need to pass STAAR to be promoted to the next grade level?

STAAR will serve as a promotion standard for certain grades and certain subjects.

Does my child need to pass STAAR to graduate from high school?

Beginning 2011-2012, students entering ninth grade must pass STAAR end-of-course exams to graduate from high school. Students who first entered ninth grade prior to 2011-2012 are required to pass the exit-level TAKS tests to graduate.