Skip To Main Content

Toggle Close Container

Mobile Main Nav

Header Holder

Header Top


Toggle Schools Container

Toggle Menu Container - Mobile

Header Bottom

Toggle Menu Container - Tablet

Header Sticky

Toggle Menu Container - Sticky

District Canvas Container

Close District Canvas

Desktop District Schools

Mobile District Schools


Disability Categories and Resources

In Texas, there are 13 different disability categories under which children ages 3 through 21 may be eligible for special education services and supports. Children with Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Visual Impairment or Deaf-Blindness are eligible to receive services from birth.

There is a two-part criterion for determining whether a child is eligible for special education services.

  1. The student must be determined to have a disability.
  2. As a result of the disability, the student needs special education and related services.

To learn more about the eligibility requirements and access helpful resources for each disability, click on a category below:



Thirteen Disabilities Identified Under IDEA