Judson ISD

Entries Tagged as 'Achievements'

Judson Choir Makes Big Impact At Regionals

Judson High School's Chorale students took their talents to the TMEA (Texas Music Educators Association) Region 11 Mixed Choir auditions.  Among hundreds of other choir students across San Antonio and south Texas, these Rockets really shined.  Judson placed the most singers out of the 20 other schools competing.  33 students from Judson earned a place in this prestigious group.  24 of those Judson singers were ranked in the top 10 in their respective audition room.  That means they qualify to move on to the Pre-Area competition coming in November. Congratulations everyone and good luck!

Saddle And Ride! Olympia's Bike Rodeo Champs

1st place winners K-5 that will be moving on to the JISD District Bike Rodeo

Bicycle rodeos are great campus events that teach and support bike safety and skills. These days a lot of campuses are rounding up everyone to know the rules and encourage them to be practicing and prepared for the skills test.  Olympia Elementary School hosted their bike rodeo and they have quite a host of riders who will be competing at the district level come October 25th. Good luck everyone

1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners in grades K-5



Wagner T-Bird Band Zooms At Contest

The USBands circuit of marching band contests boasts a membership of some 700 schools nationwide...one of the biggest in the country. Recently Wagner High School's Thunderbird Band competed in the USBands South San Antonio Showcase.  They executed a great performance and earned the Outstanding Percussion Caption Award and placed 2nd in the Group IV Open Class Division.  Congratulations to the T-Bird Marching Band and Director of Bands Frank Foster.

Rocket Band Flies High At Marching Contest

High school marching bands are incredibly busy this time of year with football season, practices and yes they even squeeze in marching band contests.  The Judson High School Rocket Marching Band recently participated in the Seguin Marching Band Festival...one of the preliminary competitions leading to wider scale contests.  The Rocket Band was Grand Champion (1st place overall) while also picking up Best Music, Best Color Guard and 1st place in 6-A division honors.  This is the second time in school history for the band to earn this kind of sweep at a prelims finals marching contest.  Congratulations to all these student musicians and Jeffrey Keyes, Director of Bands. 

Now We're Cookin'! Wagner Culinary Team Wins Cook Off!

The Back-To-School Cook-off sponsored by Go Public at the Culinary Institute of America was a rousing success for the Wagner High School team.  Under the guidance of Culinary Arts School Teacher Rosie Laster, seniors Kurtis Thompson and Mariah Sanchez teamed up with JISD Superintendent Dr. Carl Montoya to win this "Top Chef" style contest that included five other high schools from NEISD, NISD, Alamo Heights ISD, East Central ISD and Southwest ISD.  

More details on the contest, what dish JISD's team won with and what did they get as the "Best Overall Winner? It's all coming along with more photos in the September edition of the Judson Post being published September 20th.  Don't get the Judson Post? You can subscribe to this free e-publication by CLICKING HERE.