Judson ISD

Entries Tagged as 'Board'

CANCELLED: Oct. 19th Special Board Meeting

The Special Board Meeting scheduled for Monday, October 19 evening at 6 pm has been cancelled.

Board Recognitions 10-15-15

Cruz Vasquez…he’s a 5th grader from Miller’s Point Elementary. Cruz is in safety patrol and involved in the writing ambassadors club.  He enjoys reading, writing, singing and cooking.  When he grows up he would like to be a school counselor because he wants to make a difference in people’s lives.

Mr. Ernest Cox the district’s Director of Guidance and Counseling has been selected to receive the 2015 Texas Counseling Association Outstanding Counselor Award.  
He will be formally recognized and presented with an award on Thursday, November 5, 2015 at TCA’s Awards Ceremony during the 59th Annual Professional Growth Conference in Corpus Christi, TX. 

The U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association has named Coach Renee Gerbich as the 2015 Girls High School Track and Field Coach of the Year in Texas.

Eliana Parada spent part of her summer attending a SkillsUSA Leadership Conference at Canyon of the Lakes in Burnet Texas honing skills in parliamentary procedures, officer duties, public speaking and how to run a meeting.  Because of the skills showed at this conference, she was picked as District Secretary and Treasurer for District 11 and was picked to attend the Washington Leadership and Training Institute in Washington D.C. in September. 

These individuals are student government leaders that the board wanted to invite to participate in the Board of Trustee meetings each month.  We wanted to recognize them with these certificates and take a group picture in appreciation for their attendance and willingness to be involved.

Board Recognitions 9-17-15

Bailee Chapman (5th grade student at Salinas ES)

Bailee is a wonderful student who has a smile every day and volunteers willingly to help others.  Bailee is a choir member and last year helped represent Salinas in the District Honor Choir.  She loves to sing!  Bailee has an Old English Bulldog at home named Buck.  Her parents are Gary and Theresa Chapman.

One of the real pillars of the CTE program in Judson ISD is Julian Acevedo.  Well now he has been elected by his peers to serve as the President of TIVA...that's the Texas Industrial Vocational Association. Mr. Acevedo has been a great leader and motivator to CTE students at Kitty Hawk Middle School for a long time. 

Recently the Judson ISD lost a true friend to the district. 
The Judson ISD wants to recognize and briefly pay respects to Giles Babb. He was someone who played a big part in the support and legacy of the district.  
Giles was very active in his church and the community. Giles also continued to support his Alma Mater, Judson High School up until his death. He offered valuable input at the school board meetings, was involved in many of the bond issues and was an avid supporter of the Judson Rockets. He attended all of the games both here and away since 1984. His website, judsonrocketball.com is a history book of sorts to Judson Athletics and will continue to serve as a source of "Rocket Pride" for years to come.


Letter To Community From JISD Board President

Letter from Board President regarding naming of Willis R. Mackey High School – September 25, 2015 

On Wednesday, September 16th, during a special board meeting, the Judson ISD board voted 5 to 2 to name the new high school, Willis R. Mackey High School. Board policy CW (local) provides procedures regarding new facilities. This policy includes information on naming facilities, public input, renaming facilities, public dedication, and plaque for new facilities.  
As we began our process for naming the new high school, we asked for community input via our JISD website.   We received approximately 400 suggestions. There was no prior decision on the naming of the school before the night of September 16th. The 400+ suggestions were reviewed to ensure they met the requirements per our board policy. The suggestions were provided to the school board for review. 
According to the Texas Open Meetings Act, the school board could not deliberate on the naming of the new high school in any way prior to September 16th. Any and all deliberation on any topic must be done in an open meeting.  Only when the board is in open session can we conduct business. The special board meeting agenda for September 16, 2015, was posted at least 72 hours in advance as required by law and was also advertised on the Judson ISD website. 
Audience participation at a Board meeting is limited to the public comment portion (citizens to be heard) of the meeting designated for that purpose. At regular and called meetings, the Board shall allot time to hear persons who desire to make comments to the Board. Persons who wish to participate in this portion of the meeting shall sign up with the presiding officer or designee before the meeting begins and shall indicate the topic about which they wish to speak. Generally, no presentation shall exceed three minutes; however, the Board may extend the time limits. During the September 16, board meeting, I announced that I would extend the allotted time (3 minutes) for any group that wanted to address the board together. Several individuals took advantage of this break in protocol. You may view the entire September 16, special board meeting using the link provided. 
We are aware of the 2,000+ signatures on the petition at change.org to rename Willis R. Mackey high school. At our next regularly scheduled board meeting on Thursday, October 15th, we will have our “citizen’s to be heard” segment of the meeting.  We would like to invite you to speak at that time if you would like to address the board, in person, on the naming of Willis R. Mackey High School, or any other issue. 
As in all matters coming before the Judson ISD board, when a proposal is presented to the Board, the Board shall hold a discussion and reach a decision. Although there may be dissenting votes, which are a matter of public record, each Board decision shall be an action by the whole Board binding upon each member.
As a team of eight, we want to be as transparent as we can with our students, parents, staff members, and community members. We want to apologize and take full responsibility for any miscommunication or misunderstanding regarding the process of naming the new high school. 
As stated on our website, 

“Through your elected officials, you have a voice in the decision making process. In you lies the strength of the Judson Independent School District. We consider what you and others have to say because you offer a unique glimpse into community needs and interests.” 

Each School Board Member invites you to share your insights with them by telephone, letter or personal visit. As a board we want to hear what you have to say.
We are here to serve you and make a positive impact and memorable difference in the lives of our district's children. “They are our future!” This board will always put our children’s education first. It is not what the name of a building is but what goes on inside that building that counts. 

Steve Salyer
District # 1 Trustee
Judson ISD Board President

Board Declares Community Engagement Month

The Judson ISD Board of Trustees wants to encourage family and community involvement in the education and mentoring of students in the district.  The board has approved a proclamation declaring the month of October Family and Community Engagement Month.