Judson ISD

Entries Tagged as 'District Events'

STAAR Results Delayed For 3-8 Graders

The results for the STAAR spring 2016 grades 3-8 test administration were scheduled to be reported to districts on Wednesday, June 15, 2016. This date has been moved to Tuesday, July 5, 2016. Due to ongoing issues and concerns with reporting, The Texas Education Agency (TEA) has requested that ETS, the state’s testing vendor,  conduct additional quality control checks and verifications to ensure accurate reporting. The Texas Education Agency apologizes for this delay and understands the significant inconvenience late reporting will cause students, parents, teachers, and school district personnel. Judson ISD will continue to keep families posted on when you will obtain your student’s test results.

JISD Substitute Recognition

Substituting when a staff member is out is a tough job, because many times you are on the fly and getting your bearings while students or coworkers are still needing the help they normally get.  Judson ISD salutes these wonderful people who make things happen even when people get sick or the unexpected happens.  This Substitute Appreciation Day was hosted by the district at the Judson Early College Academy and honored the Substitutes of the Year from each campus. They are truly important members of our work force. 




Walking Challenge Winners

The Health and Wellness folks that partner JISD with Blue Cross-Blue Shield launched a spring Walking Challenge that stretched over a month. The six week challenge encouraged participants to walk at least 30 minutes a day, five days a week to reach the Centers For Disease Control and Prevention physical activity guidelines for adults.  That's 150 minutes of physical activity per week.  Employees walked a total of 61,312.54 miles during the six week period. WOW!.  A big thank you goes out to the Family Walzem YMCA for offering free onsite exercise classes to all JISD employees and their families.   Congratulations to the winners!

1st place Sandra Juarez, Park Village ES 

2nd place Michaela Torres, Woodlake Hills MS

3rd place Syliva Solis, Coronado Village ES

JISD Summer Of 2016 Job Fair

As the 2015-16 school year is wrapping up, the JISD Human Resource Department is already preparing for the next year with a summer job fair.  The 2016 JISD Summer Job Fair is for mainly auxiliary personnel, but there is a wide variety of positions that will need to be filled.  This event is being hosted at Wagner Early College High School at 3000 North Foster Road in San Antonio from 8 am to 3 pm.  Bring your resume and anything that can show your experience and quality of work.  Good luck!

Military Families Enjoy Night Of Soccer

In its first season, the San Antonio Current Professional soccer League (USL) wanted to show their appreciation to the families of those who are serving our country in the military by inviting them to a special game.  It was their first ever "Military Family Appreciation Night."  Students involved in the peer support groups C.A.A.S. and P.A.F.S. were invited to watch the San Antonio Current take on the OKC Energy recently at Toyota Field.  What a great opportunity for these kids and their families to spend some time together and have a blast watching the game.  JISD Military Family Engagement Specialist Sylvia Greenwood developed this new partnership and helped launch this event.