Judson ISD

Board Recognitions 3-23-17

Pledge Leader: Ms. Mikaylee Puckett is a top 5th grade student at Copperfield Elementary School. Mikaylee interviewed and was selected to serve on the Student Leadership Team at Copperfield.  This team strives to serve the school and community through volunteer opportunities.  Mikaylee’s favorite subject is science and she enjoys writing her own music.  She is currently working on composing a song for the 5th grade completion ceremony at Copperfield.

Our first recognition comes from Judson High School. For the first time in school history, this Lady Rocket Basketball Team went to the State UIL State Basketball Tournament.  On their journey there the team earned a 28 and 7 record as back to back District Champions, Bi-District champs, Area and Regional Champs and of course went on to State.  This team has some obvious leaders, but it has been a total team effort…the way it should be.  Steering our Lady Rockets to success this year, is Head Girls Basketball Coach, who has been selected as the Express News Girls Basketball Coach of the Year and a Texas Girls Coaches Association All-Star Coach…Ms. Triva Corrales.  Coach Corrales has been an employee of JISD since 2005, Head Coach of the Lady Rocket Basketball team for the past 7 years and holds a record of 164 and 70.

Team leadership would not be complete, however without, team coaches Stephanie Etienne and Nia Torru who worked tirelessly this season to make sure our athletes were up to the challenges ahead. And finally, congratulations to our incredible student athletes:

Kyra White (Express News Super Team), Desiree Lewis (All-Area Team), Sabrina Allen, Keanalei Aukuso, Elena Blanding, Samara Clark, Miandria Davis, Olivia Flowers, Chantel Govan, Heaven Mbaruk, Tiffany McGarity and Victoria Gonzales.

Our second recognition comes from Judson High School as well.  Isamary Aquino is currently a junior at Judson and competes on both the Varsity Cross Country and Track teams. Outside of school, she is an accomplished amateur boxer with more than sixteen  National Titles…including most recently winning the 2016 Youth National Championship and claiming her spot on the USA Boxing National Team once again.  She is also the USA Boxing Junior Female Athlete of the Year. By the way, with all these accomplishments, Isamary has maintained a 4.0 GPA…amazing!

Our next recognition is from Judson High School and Wagner High School.  The Texas Music Educators Association selects its All-State Choir, Band and Orchestra members and JISD placed four fantastic student musicians.  In the Choir category, a familiar name has come back.  A member of the Judson High School Chorale and Cantate, serving as Student Director and recipient of the TMEA’s Bill Cormack Scholarship. Congratulations to three time All-State Choir member Scott Rogers. His director is Mr. David Short.

Now on the Band side of the All-State musicians, three students have been selected to perform as a part of the All-State Band.  From Judson High School, a three time All-State selection Paula Wilson and First year All-State selection Alex Gutierrez under the direction of Mr. Jeffrey Keyes…and from Wagner High School Assistant principal trumpet in the TMEA 6A All-State Concert Band and 4th chair in the TMEA Region 11 Treble Choir, Kiah Johnson. This is a prestigious honor that is a selection from literally thousands of students in school music programs across the state. They all performed in the Texas All-State Band and Choir concerts back in February at the Gonzalez Convention Center. Congratulations to all.

Our next recognition comes from criminal justice students from across JISD, under the leadership of Mr. Jesse Acosta.  The students competed in the following qualifying events which they will now compete in at the TSPA State Competition: SWAT, Criminal Investigations, Foot Pursuit, Felony Traffic Stop, Building Search, Police Report Writing, Firefighter Agility Course, Inmate Processing, Cell Extraction, Brain Bowl, Criminal Case Analysis, Opening Statement, and Bulletin Board Display.  The students are:

Ashley Salinas, Idalia Barraza, Kiara Echevarria, Faith Robles, Michel Velez, Richard Hernandez, Juan Flores, Xavier Saucedo, Alec Harrison, Brandon Major, Courtney Pride, Thomas Briones,
Courtnee Tallon, Rosalia Molina, Janessa Hernandez, Brieanna Ruiz, Amerika Leija, Eugene Smith, Laura Moreno, Marissa Schultz, Juanita Ortiz, and Ian Sides.

The final recognition of the evening are six members of the Judson High School Mock trail criminal justice team. Never in the decades that the Texas High School Mock Trial Regionals have been held had Judson High School ever sent a team to participate.  In their first run at this competition this Judson team placed 3rd in the overall event held at Region 20.  With expert coaching by attorneys Boggs-Perez and Bruce Luckett, practice space that was graciously provided by the St. Mary's Law School in their Moot courtroom and the in time that the Honorable Judge David Canales provided them for arguing their cases before him, this team has flourished.  Congratulations to students:

Nadia Oviedo, Tatiana Huizar, Samantha Gonzalez, Alyssa Martinez, Idalia Barraza, and Jake Fricke


Write your comment

(it will not be displayed)

Please leave this field empty: