Judson ISD

Board Recognitions 5-17-18

Pledge leader was Natania Workman. She is an outstanding 5th grade student at Coronado Village Elementary. Natania is a great model for perseverance and integrity.? She is the student council secretary and is often the first person who offers help when needed.  She has volunteered to pick up trash on the playground. She greets people in the hallway to spread smiles. She continually works hard inside and outside of the classroom.


Our first recognition comes from Coronado Village Elementary School. Each year HEB recognizes outstanding teachers across the state through the Excellence in Education Awards. Receiving a Lifetime Achievement Award for her work in music education is Bonnie Anderson. Ms. Anderson with this award received a $25,000 check and a matching grant of another $25,000 for her school. This is given to teachers who have kept a standard of teaching excellence of 20 years or more.


Our next recognition comes from Judson Early College Academy. The Boys and Girls Club each year selects a Youth of the Year. After many interviews, speeches, writing and personal preparation, JECA student Savannah Mayhood was selected San Antonio Youth of the Year. She qualified for the state competition in Houston that was an amazing event. She was not selected for that, but represented Judson ISD well. 


Our next recognition comes from Metzger Middle School. For years now the Metzger music program has been setting the bar very high. The instructors are not just good, but they provide students that educational balance that comes from music education. The National Association of Music Merchants Foundation has awarded the school the Support Music Merit Award for providing access and music education to all students. Instructors are: Director of Bands John Robertson, Assistant Band Director Bryant Aynes, Orchestra Director Brian Coker, and Choir Director Andrew Sanchez…their principal is Dr. Tracey Valree.


Our next recognition comes from Judson High School. The Auto Tech Skills team at Judson went to SkillsUSA competition recently in Corpus Christi. Mr. Sergio Salinas’ team of Francisco Cruz and Christopher Lamont competed against a dozen teams and came away with a bronze medal for Auto Career Promotions Demonstration. In addition, the Judson Automotive Technology program recently reached a tremendous achievement. It has successfully passed the ASE (Automotive Service Excellence) accreditation. This 5-year industry approval provides even more credibility to Judson’s program and provides more certifications for students.


Our next recognition is also from Judson High School. Recently the National Spanish Exam was taken by students across the country. 30 students from Judson were acknowledged for their exceptional performance and we want to recognize them. SILVER LEVEL:  Mariana Montoya, Jose Díaz  BRONZE LEVEL: Diana Gonzalez, Melanie Villarreal, Megan Smalley, Elias Pineda, Lizbeth Nieto  HONORABLE MENTION: Jesus Jimenez, James Le, Aileen Rodriguez, Isamary Aquino, Valeria Barba, Agustin Barraza, Said Barraza, Melissa Gaytan, Adriana Grijalva-Campbell, Alix Lopez, Perla Melchor, Edwin Rivera-Mundo, Rosa Rojas, Vanessa Montano, Sherlyann Santiago-Moreno, Sara Peacock, Christian Bonson, Michelle Castruita, Diana Garza, Madelayn Hernandez, Arianna Maquin, Cecilia Nguyen, and Annette Niño.


Our next recognition comes from Converse Elementary School. The National Elementary Honor Society recently recognized outstanding programs around the country. This was the first year to recognize an Honor Society Advisor of the Year. It went to Dee Dee Haralson. She was one of two chosen nationally. By the way Converse Elementary was also recognized this year for Outstanding Service Project of the Year for their Veterans Day Salute. 


Our next recognition also comes from Converse Elementary School. In terms of STEM programs, the NASA LiftOff Summer Institute is one of the most prestigious and competitive learning opportunities for teachers each summer. Chosen this year from Converse Elementary School is 5th grade teacher Juliana Berry. Ms. Berry leads the STEM programs at Converse and is the future robotics sponsor there.


Our next recognition is not necessarily an award from a competition, but a recognition of gratitude that the board wanted to extend. Samaritan’s Feet is a global organization that gives hope and encouragement to kids through the washing of feet and the gift of shoes. Their partnership with Walmart to do this brought them to the Candlewood Elementary campus recently and the district wanted to acknowledge their time and efforts with certificates of appreciation… they touched a lot of hearts. Here this evening with Walmart representing the volunteers are:  Dave Madison, Cynthia Johnson Terry Hinze and Ricardo Cepeda and representing Samaritan’s Feet is Regional Coordinator Mythiquer Pickett.


Our next recognition comes from Judson High School. The Texas Forensics State Tournament recently hosted student performers from all over the state in La Vernia and two students came away with a State Championship. Winning first place in Duo Acting were Josh Mayo and Nathaniel Cullors. Nathaniel could not be here tonight.  But also making it as a state finalist at the tournament for poetry competition was Alexis Patterson. Their instructors are Larry Bailey and Larissa Lyons.


The Judson FFA Chapter sent a team to compete in the State Nursery/Landscape Career Development contest. More than 15,000 students began the statewide tournament in 28 different events. Judson’s Nursery and Landscape Team placed 9th overall and the team is here tonight. Students are: Ariana Rangel, Stephen Morales, Alexa Milstein, and Dylan Cole. Their instructor is Mr. Jay Trees. 


Also coming from Judson High School is a group of very artistic individuals. This group participated in the VASE or Visual Arts Scholastic event in San Marcos and did exceptionally well. Six students competed and these four received division 1 or division 2 awards as state contestants. Haley Stolz and Rocksey Alba… Justin Kahl (not here) and Mikayla Aguilar. Their instructors are Margaret Trost and Cathryn Davis.


From two schools comes a recognition in the area of counseling. The Texas School Counselor Association acknowledges outstanding counseling programs through a program called CREST which stands for Counselors Reinforcing Excellence For Students In Texas. It spotlights teams that improve the lives of students on many different levels. The CREST award was earned by the counseling staffs at Judson High School and Converse Elementary School. Those counselors at Judson are:   JoAnne Cruz, Destiny Price, Velma Lopez, Stormy Wilson, Misty Ornelas, Arlene Waldon, Christian Angulo, Mike Frantz, Leslie McClellan, Thomas Jimenez, and Michelle Tubilla.  From Converse Elementary School…counselor Aimee Bailey.


Our final recognition comes from Wagner High School. The Business Professionals of American hosted its annual conference and competition in Dallas earlier this month and a team of three students competed in the software engineering category and represented the district very well. They came away being ranked in the top ten in their category designing a game called ‘Larry The Lightbulb.’ It is can be found in the Google and Apple stores as a free download. Please congratulate Austin Aurelio, Evan Barrera and Marvin Valenzuela.



Write your comment

(it will not be displayed)

Please leave this field empty: