Judson ISD

Board Recognitions For 1-24-19

There are the individuals recognized by the JISD Board during its regular meeting on January 24, 2019. 
Wagner High School Junior ROTC:
1. Cadet Master Sergeant Nathaniel Ruhl
2. Cadet First Sergeant Isiah Barnes
3. Cadet Second Lieutenant James Chairez
4. Cadet Private Aden Parra
JSTEM’s team "Making Herstory" has marked a huge milestone in their quest to become GirlsBuild national champions. The big news came earlier when their team was chosen as one of the ten nation-wide to compete this season, so they are national finalists. 
They are  Nelly Erby, Naolin Gonzales, Marissa Ramirez, Cheyenne Lopez, and Mariana Rangel, Ava Ricks, Dianna King, Isabel Romero, Alexandra Banda, Daniya Vidal, Nevaeh Topp, and Rhianna Starks. 
Their website, event plans, and budget draft documents were just acknowledged by girls-build.org. Their challenge is to implement their community project of service and advocacy over the next few months.  Champions are selected in May. Their instructor is Mr. Randall Ohman. Congratulations to her and would her parents please stand to be recognized.
Being recognized by a national association affiliated with what you do as your profession is a wonderful thing. Judson High School Theater Arts Director Larry Bailey has been honored by the National Speech & Debate Association's Honor Society. His special membership is the result of his
students' speech and debate presentations, competition, and service. Mr. Bailey works hard with his students to perform with confidence and purpose in each production and competition. He will be featured in the National Speech and Debate magazine called “Rostrum” coming in February and will be recognized at the National Speech & Debate Contest in Dallas in June. Congratulations!
. Our final recognition is from Wagner High School.  The football team at Wagner High School made history this year.  The Thunderbirds went 13-2 and made it to the State Semifinals for the first time and they let it be known that Wagner aims to be in the postseason mix for years to come. The hard work and dedication that the T-Birds have invested have brought them farther than other previous Wagner football team. While the team’s ride through the playoffs stopped at the semifinals, Coach Bruce and his staff have really worked hard with this team and the players responded by giving their all.   They deserve our recognition and congratulations. Coach Bruce and his staff brought some of the players to represent the team for this evening’s recognition. 
They are:
1.  Elijah Balderas, Senior - Plays Defensive Tackle, varsity letterman, Part of the Defensive Line that had 5 shutouts.
2.  Javon Barnes, Senior - Plays Cornerback, 3-year letterman, All-District First Team, Played in the San Antonio All-Star Game.  VYPE Defensive Player of the Year (Corner).
3.  Kavon Barnes, Senior - Plays Cornerback, 3-year letterman, All-District First Team, Played in the San Antonio All-Star Game.  VYPE Defensive Player of the Year (Safety).
4.  Noe Diaz, Senior - 2-year letterman, Week 1 Kens Army Strong Award, All-District First Team, Played in the Texas All-Star Game.
5.  Greg Steptoe, Senior - Plays Line Backer, 2-year letterman, All-District First Team, Honorable Mention All-State, Played in the Texas All-Star Game.
6.  Tobias Weaver, Senior - Plays Quarterback, 2 -Year letterman, Week 3 player of the week, Vype Magazine offensive player of the year, All-District First Team, Played in the San Antonio All-Star Game.
7.  Demarcus Hendricks, Junior - Plays Defensive End, 2-year letterman, Led the district in interceptions, All-District First Team, All-City, Honorable Mention All-State.
8.  Raphael Zertuche, Junior - Plays Offensive Line, 2- year Letterman, All-District First Team, All City 
9.  L.J. Butler, Sophomore - Plays Running Back, 2- year Letterman, All-District First Team, All City
Player of the Game for Regional Champions,  All VYPE 1st Team.
1.  Desmon Battle - Secondary Coach
2.  Brandon Kallies - Slots Coach and Head Baseball Coach
3.  Adam Lopez - FCA Huddle Leader, Assistant Offensive Line Coach, and Assistant Baseball Coach
4.  Charles Bruce - Head Football Coach and Athletic Coordinator, Express-News Football Coach of the year.
Our JISD Board Members were given special recognition for their hard work at the beginning of the meeting. This also included unique wall decorations depicting the board watering the seeds of educational excellence and a special slide show presentation prior to the meeting. Thank you JISD Board for all you do.


Write your comment

(it will not be displayed)

Please leave this field empty: